July 19, 2023

Winner of the 4th Annual Story Foundation Prize

We are proud to announce the winner of our fourth annual Story Foundation Prize. We have selected “Woman of the House” by Becky Hagenston of Starkville, Mississippi as this year’s prize winner. Her story will be featured in our summer 2023 issue, which will be released in August.

In addition, our staff selected six finalists. These are:

“Threadbare” by Marilyn Abildskov
“Barn Burning” by Amber Caron
“Services” by Gordon Haber
“Evidence” by Grace Shuyi Liew
“The Fault” by Lara Palmqvist
“Aquas” by A.J. Rodriguez

This year, we once again received more entries than ever before, which means we read more wonderful stories than ever before! We are grateful to all the writers for the opportunity to read and consider their work. Becky’s story will be featured in our forthcoming summer 2023 issue alongside writers such as Katherine Hill, Anne Elliott, and DT Lumpkin, among many others.

The fifth annual Story Foundation Prize will open for entries on August 15, 2023.