April 6, 2022 |

Winner of the 3rd Annual Story Foundation Prize

We are proud to announce the winner of our third annual Story Foundation Prize. We have selected “Stuck” by Laura Venita Green of New York, New York, as this year’s prize winner. Her story will be featured in our summer 2022 issue, which will be released in June.

In addition, our staff selected six finalists. These are:

“Death to the Daylight People” by Josh Bell
“The best moment of our maldita lives” by Kathryn Campo Bowen
“Todd” by Matthew Farrell
“Mother’s Helper” by Margaret Meehan
“The Game of Life” by Eric Schlich
“Sisters” by Yiru Zhang

This year, we received twice as many entries as we did the previous year (how’s that for growth?) and we were impressed by the style, depth, and quality of the stories we read. We are grateful to all the writers for the opportunity to read and consider their work. Laura’s story will be featured in our forthcoming summer 2022 issue alongside writers such as Rachel Swearingen, Alan Rossi, Ciera McElroy, and Matthew Pitt, among many others.